Home | About Us | FAQs | RSS | Contact Us | Sitemap | Careers | Educational    

About CBN

History | Our Mission & Vision | Branches | Organogram | Departments | The Board | Past Governors | Freedom of Information Office

CBN Departments

Economic Policy
This directorate is made up of the following Departments:
  1. Financial Markets Department.
  2. Monetary Policy Department
  3. Research Department
  4. Statistics Department
  5. Trade and Exchange Department.


Departments under this directorate are:-

  • Financial Markets Department

    The Department has the following mandates:

    • Implementation of CBN-mandated and CBN financial market operations
    • Promotion of the Nigerian financial markets to ensure effective monetary policy transmission

  • Monetary Policy

    The Department has the following mandate:

    • Development and implementation of monetary policy

  • Research

    The Department has the following mandates:

    • Development and provision of information services, analyses and policy papers on various areas of the economy including the financial, external, fiscal and real sectors.
    • Macroeconomic modeling and forecasting

  • Statistics
  • The Department has the following mandate:

    • To collect, analyse and manage data on all sectors of the economy, in order to provide statistical support to the Bank, the government, international organizations and other stakeholders.

  • Trade & Exchange
  • The Department has the following mandate:

    • Development and articulation of trade and exchange rate policies working with other arms of government

See departments under other directorates

Please Note that the CBN does not have any other departments outside the country or at any other location besides those listed on this website, If you have received any form of correspondence naming a CBN department that is not on this list please see our 419 disclaimer.

Facts : 1/1/1966
Central Bank of Nigeria, Enugu Branch:In the year 1966, The Central Bank of Nigeria Branch in Enugu was opened.It was the fourth Central Bank Branch that was established, bringing to 4, the number of Central Bank offices in Nigeria at that time.
See All: Facts | Events

Central Bank of Nigeria:: Did You Find
Icon Key
Print out page
Go to top of page
Definition of word
frequent questions on topic
Make us your homepage
Export data to Excel